# Minutes of the Special Annual General Meeting of PSAC Local 70044 CIDA, March 28, 2014

The meeting was held in the Conference Room of the Gatineau PSAC Regional Office on March 28<sup>th</sup>, 2014

Executive: Shahrzad Sedigh (President), Paul Thomas (1<sup>st</sup> Vice-President), Stephen Smith (Treasurer), Anne Lavender (2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-President), Louise Truswell (Secretary), Yan Marhone Communications Steward), Fatima Ameen (Human Rights Steward)

Guests: Karl Lafreniere – Assistant Regional Vice-President, Outside Canada Rose Touhey – Assistant Regional Vice-President, Outside Canada Isabelle Beaudoin – Regional Representative for Human Rights, Outside Canada

# Welcome

Shahrzad Sedigh thanked all the members present for attending this year's Special Annual General Assembly. She also expressed thanks to Karl, Rose and Isabelle for having assisted our local with this meeting.

# **Approval of the Financial Statements for 2013**

The Treasurer Stephen Smith walked members through the Financial Statements for 2013.

The Financial Statements for 2013 were approved.

# **Elections**

Karl Lafrenière explained the election process (nominations are requested 3 times). If there is only one person, that individual is elected by proclamation. If there is more than one nomination, the person elected must receive 51% of the vote)

### **President**

Candidate: Shahrzad Sedigh Nominated by: Fatima Ameen Seconded by: Paul Thomas Elected by acclamation.

Shahrzad accepted the nomination

# 2<sup>ieme</sup> Vice President

Candidate: Anne Lavender Nominated by: Louise Truswell Seconded by: Shahrzad Sedigh

Elected by acclamation

Anne accepted the nomination by proxy

# Secretary

Candidate: Louise Truswell

Nominated by: Shahrzade Sedigh Seconded by: Anne Lavender

Elected by acclamation

Louise accepted the nomination.

#### **Chief Steward**

Candidate: Anna Bogdan-Thukral Nominated by: Stephen Smith Seconded by: Louise Truswell

Elected by acclamation

Anna accepted the nomination by proxy. Acceptance read by Shahrzad Sedigh.

# **Health and Safety Representative**

Candidate: Olivier Fankhauser Nominated by: Louise Paris Seconded by: Steve Jaltema Candidate: Anna Marie Melanson Nominated by Caroline Jolie Seconded by: Paul Thomas

Anna Marie Melanson is elected as the Health and Safety Representative

Anna Marie accepted the nomination.

# **Communications Officer**

Candidate: Yan Marhone Nominated by: Paul Thomas Seconded by: Stephen Smith Elected by acclamation

Yan accepte la mise en candidature

Karl Lafreniere motioned that all the election ballots be destroyed. All were in favor.

Ballots destroyed.